THE BOOK CLUB! Amanda to Tour Australia in 2013

Amanda Muggleton will tour for 6 months around Australia in “The Book Club” during 2013!

Romantic lunches with Martin Amis and passionate trysts with John Updike. But that’s just in her dreams. Genteel housewife and mother Deborah has an addiction. ‘I’m a bookaholic,’ she confesses. ‘I just can’t help myself.’

The spice of Deborah’s real life is her book club. For the women who take part, it’s a meeting of minds – and their very different lifestyles. For Deborah, the club is a chance to gather the juicy gossip of her friends’ lives and relationships. But when a famous author joins the group for a study session, Deborah’s own life suddenly switches from an old wives’ tale to the stuff of erotic fiction. The ensuing affair takes her love of linguistics to a whole new level.

Australia’s leading stage actress, Amanda Muggleton (Educating Rita, Shirley Valentine, Prisoner), returns to this brilliantly scripted role to give us a whimsical peek behind the closed doors of suburbia.

“Amanda Muggleton is simply brilliant. If you only see one play this year, make it ‘The Book Club’.” The West Australian

 

“ This schedule is subject to change. Please confirm details with the venue before booking.”  

SURFERS PARADISE, The Arts Centre Gold Coast – QLD
Tuesday 7 May 2013 – Friday 10 May 2013
http://www.theartscentregc.com.au

 

BRISBANE, QUT Garden Theatre – QLD
Tuesday 14 May 2013 @ 7.30pm
Wednesday 15 May 2013 @ 2.00pm and 7:30PM
http://www.gardenstheatre.qut.edu.au/whatson/2013/bookclub.jsp

 

LOGAN, Logan Entertainment Centre – QLD
Thursday 16 May 2013 – Saturday 18 May 2013
http://www.loganentertainmentcentre.com.au/whats-on/calendar-events/lec-events/the-book-club

 

TOWNSVILLE, Riverway Arts Centre – QLD
Tuesday 21 May 2013 @ 8PM
Wednesday 22 May 2013 @ 8PM
http://www.townsville.qld.gov.au/facilities/theatres/riverwayarts/Pages/default.aspx

 

DARWIN, Entertainment Centre – NT
Friday 24 May 2013 – Sat 25 May 2013
http://www.yourcentre.com.au/shows/the_book_club

 

CARNARVON, Camel Lane Theatre – WA
Friday 31st May 2013
http://www.carnarvonciviccentre.com/Camel-Lane-Theatre.html

 

PERTH, Subiaco Arts Centre – WA
Thu 6 June 2013 – Sat 8 June 2013
http://www.subiacoartscentre.com.au/

 

BRUCE ROCK, Bruce Rock Shire Hall – WA
Wednesday 12 June 2013
PH: 08 9061 1687

 

MANDURAH, Mandurah Performing Arts Centre – WA
Saturday 15 June 2013 @ 8PM
http://www.manpac.com.au/show_inside.php?id=240

 

KALAMUNDA, Kalamunda Performing Arts Centre – WA
Tuesday 18 June 2013 @ 8PM
http://www.kalamunda.wa.gov.au/ServicesandInformation/KalamundaPerformingArtsCentre.aspx

 

THORNLIE, Don Russell PAC – WA
Thursday 20 June 2013
http://www.gosnells.wa.gov.au//scripts/viewoverview_contact.asp?NID=9125

 

ALBANY – Albany Entertainment Centre – WA,
Sunday 23 June 2013 @ 5.00pm

http://www.albanyentertainment.com.au/eventDisplay.aspx?ID=1277,

 

SYDNEY, Chatswood Zenith Theatre – NSW
18th September to 21st September 2013

https://www.patronbase.com/_Zenith/Performances?prod_id=BOOK

 

DUBBO, Regional Theatre Convention Centre – NSW
Friday 30 August 2013 @ 8.00pm
http://www.drtcc.com.au

 

SUTHERLAND, Entertainment Centre – NSW
Friday 6 September 2013
http://www.sutherlandshire.nsw.gov.au/Arts_Entertainment/Entertainment_Centre

 

CLEVELAND, Redlands Performing Arts Centre – QLD
Saturday 28 September 2013
http://www.rpac.com.au

 

QUEANBEYAN, The ‘Q’ – Queanbeyan Performing Arts Centre - ACT
Thursday 3 October 2013 @ 2.00pm & 8.00pm
Friday 4 October 2013 @ 8.00pm
Saturday 5 October 2013 @ 2.00pm & 8.00pm
http://www.theq.net.au/pages/eventdetail.asp?id=273

 

HAMILTON, Hamilton PAC – VIC
Tuesday 8 October 2013
http://www.hamiltonpac.com.au

 

COLAC, Colac Otway Performing Arts & Cultural Centre (COPACC) – VIC
Thursday 10 October 2013
www.copacc.com.au

 

WONTHAGGI, Wonthaggi Community Arts Centre – VIC
Saturday 12 October 2013
PH: 03 5672 1083

 

UPWEY, Burrinja Cultural Centre – Vic
Sunday 13 October at 7pm
www.burrinja.org.au
ph. (03) 9754 8723

To keep up to date with The Book Club as more theatre shows are confirmed, you can also visit:

HIT Productions - Australia’s Premier Theatre Touring Company
JOIN US ON FACEBOOK - www.facebook.com/HIT.theatre